Beauty

How I Beat Perioral Dermatitis

If you have ever suffered from Perioral Dermatitis, you will know it is an unpleasant experience and an experience that lasted almost a year in my case! I am self-diagnosed (by constant internet research) but I would like to share my battle and more importantly, resolution!

It began around March 2016, I had what looked to be a red rash around my nose and small red spots on my chin.

This all began when I accidently applied what must have been a really old foundation to my face, it stung and the next day my PD was there. At the time I was also using a very strong mouth wash which I found was making the PD worse. I started getting the rash on my cheeks and around my eyes!

I stopped using the mouth wash and kept my skin make-up free when I was in the house, but my PD was so bad I wanted to cover it when going in public. The PD continued for many months, sometimes it was bad, sometimes it was okay but it was still there and a simple change in product could set it off again.

I decided enough was enough, my self-esteem was low and I was sick of being self-conscious! I scoped the internet and found a couple of methods that seemed most popular.

  • Apple Cider Vinegar (must contain mother enzyme)
  • Coconut Oil
  • Avoid steroid creams/shampoos
  • Non Fluoride toothpaste
  • Greek Yogurt
  • Seek doctor – Anti-biotics

I tried them all except the getting anti-biotics from my GP and the home remedies did reduce and improve the look of my skin, however didn’t solve the problem fully as the PD was still around my nose and chin area.

Then one day, I was doing my weekly food shop and I was walking up medical isle. I can came across 1% cream. 1% cream is used to treat athletes foot  that can be found in any superstore medicine isle.

I then had what I thought was a crazy theory at the time, athletes foot is a fungus and this cream seems to get rid of that, maybe it will work on my Perioral Dermatitis! I decided to try it for a couple of days to see what happened as it was steroid free too.

After two weeks my PD was completely gone and hasn’t returned since! This hasn’t been certified by a doctor (from what I know) but it is the only thing that worked for me. Hopefully it will work for you!

Leave a Reply

